Regular SCV Trustees Association Meeting February 24,2025

6:00pm

Newhall School District Offices 25375 Orchard Village Road Valencia, CA 91355

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 6:08 p.m.
- 2. roll call
- 2.1 Newhall School District; Castaic Union Elementary School District; Saugus Union School District; Sulphur Springs Union School District; William S. Hart Union High School District; College of the Canyons.

Ken Chase, Shelley Weinstein, Catherine Kawaguchi, Chris Trunkey, Rachelle Haddoak, Suzan Solomon, Donna Robert, Leticia Hernandez, Cherise Moore, Aakash Ahuja, Erin Wilson, Michael Vierra, Edel Alonso, Sharlene Johnson

- 3. Public comments on closed session items Not Applicable
- 4. Adjourn to closed session Not Applicable
- 4.1 There are no items for closed session
- 5. Reconvene to regular session Not Applicable
- 6. Report out of closed session Not Applicable
- 7. Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jack O'Connell
- 8. Approval of the agenda Moved by Edel Alonso, Second by Chris Trunkey, Approved unanimously.
- 13. Approval of the minutes from the September 24, 2024 SCV Trustees Association. Moved by Donna Robert, Second by Rachell Haddoak, Approved unanimously.
- 9. Announcements
 - Mary Linn Daehlin, CSBA PACER announced CSBA Legislative Action Week Chris Trunkey announce upcoming CSBA Delegate Assembly elections.
- 10. public comments
 - rationale: any citizen may address the boards on items of interest to the public that are within the jurisdiction of the boards. no action will be taken on any item not appearing on the agenda.
 - Rebecca Hindman commented about bullying.
- 11. Correspondence None
- 12. public interest
- 12.1 Guest speakers: former state Superintendent of Public Instruction Jack O'Connell and Caitlin Jung from Capitol Advisors Discussed state public policy and education.
- 12.2 Review SCV Association bylaws The bylaws were amended per attached. Moved by Shelley Weinstein, Second by Chris Trunkey, Approved unanimously.
- 12.3 Election of SCV Trustees Association Officers

Historian: Cherise Moore, Nominated by Shelley Weinstein, Second by Ken Chase, Approved Unanimously.

President: Suzan Solomon, Nominated by Rachelle Haddoak, Second by Shelley Weinstein, Approved Unanimously.

Vice-President: Chris Trunkey, Nominated by Cherise Moore, Second by Edel Alonso, Approved Unanimously.

Secretary: Ken Chase, Nominated by Chris Trunkey, Second by Cherise Moore, Approved Unanimously.

Advocacy Chair: Erin Wilson, Nominated by Ken Chase, Second by Aakash Ahuja, Approved Unanimously.

Member at Large: Edel Alonso, Nominated by Cherise Moore, Second by Rachelle Haddoak, Approved Unanimously.

14. School District Reports

each school district has the opportunity to share its updates, challenges, celebrations, community concerns, and legislative and advocacy efforts.

Hart

Cherise Moore, Aakash Ahuja and Michael Vierra presented the update regarding the William S. Hart Union High School District.

Sulphur Springs

Shelley Weinstein presented the update regarding the Sulphur Springs Union School District.

Saugus

Chris Trunkey presented the update regarding the Saugus Union School District.

Newhall

Rachel Haddoak and Suzan Solomon presented the update regarding the Newhall School District.

College of the Canyons

Sharlene Johnson and Edel Alonso presented the update regarding College of the Canyons.

- 15 Agenda items for upcoming board meetings: None
- 16. <u>Adjournment</u>
- 16.1 The association president adjourned the meeting at 8:26 p.m.

Bylaws for the Santa Clarita Valley Trustees Association

Article 1 Name and Purposes

Section 1: The name of this association shall be the Santa Clarita Valley Trustees Association.

Section 2: The purposes of this association shall be to preserve, advance, and improve public education; to encourage, and cooperate to encourage and advocate for the betterment of opportunities for the community of the Santa Clarita Valley.

Section 3: No actions or recommendations taken by the membership of this association are binding upon any of the individual school districts.

Article II Membership and Dues

Section 1: Every trustee of each of the following districts shall be a member of this association, provided their Board takes action to participate in the Association.

Castaic Union School District
Newhall School District
Santa Clarita Community College District
Saugus Union School District
Sulphur Springs Union School District
William S. Hart Union High School District

Section 2: Superintendents shall be advisory, non-voting members of the Association.

Article III Officers and Terms

Section 1: The officers on the executive board in this association shall be President, Vice President, Secretary, Advocacy Chair, Historian, Immediate Past President and Member-at-Large. The officers of the executive board should attempt to be representative of all districts.

Section 2: All officers on the executive board shall be members of participating districts.

Section 3: The term of office shall be two years, but the officer may be re-elected.

Section 4: The bi-annual election of officers shall take place at the first meeting of every odd calendar year.

Section 5: Officers will be elected by the association at the annual election meeting. Nominations shall be made from the floor.

Section 6: Vacancies will be appointed by the president and ratified by the executive board.

Article IV Duties of Officers

Section 1: The President shall:

- a. Preside over the meetings;
- b. Draft the meeting agenda and send it to the executive board for input.

Section 2: The Vice President shall:

- a. Take over the duties of the president in his/her absence;
- b. Arrange for meetings, their locations, and programs.

Section 3: The Secretary shall

- a. Record the minutes of all meetings of the association and email a copy to all members;
- b. Send an agenda, and minutes of the prior meeting to each school district for posting on their websites seventy-two (72) hours prior to the meeting of the association.

Section 4: Member-at-large shall:

a. Organize a directory and distribute it to the members of the association.

Section 5. The Advocacy Chair shall:

a. Keep the membership informed of current legislation and initiatives.

Section 6: The Immediate Past President shall (non-elected office):

- a. Coordinate recognitions and acknowledgment of challenging and changing times.
- b. Costs for recognitions will be made voluntarily by association members.

Section 7: The Historian shall:

- a. Maintain the records of the SCV Trustees Association;
- b. Perform the duties of the Immediate Past President in the absence of an Immediate Past President.

Article V Meetings

Section 1: Minimum of Three (3) regular meetings of the association shall be held annually. Regular meetings of the association shall not conflict with individual school district meetings. Meeting announcements shall be sent to the members no less than two weeks prior to the association meeting.

Section 2: A special meeting may be called by written request of three members of the executive board giving seventy-two (72) hours notification.

Section 3; A special meeting may be requested in writing by a majority of member Districts.

Section 4: All meetings are open to the public and to representatives of the news media.

Articles VI Committees

Section 1: Committees may be formed and disbanded as needed.

Article VII Quorum & Amendment

Section 1: Members present from four of six school districts shall constitute a quorum.

Section 2: Bylaws maybe amended or suspended at any meeting of the association by a vote of four of six school districts represented.

Section 3: Each member of the association shall have one vote.

Bylaws adopted in November 13,1975 and amended in 1980, 1981, 1983, 1985, August 26, 2019, February 24, 2025.